Faith.


Saint James the Great, Russian icon from first...

Image via Wikipedia

Faith.

TWO MEN TALKING DISCIPLE Jesus, You have talked a lot about faith. I
have been raised by my parents in the faith. But I have still not sure what you
mean?

JESUS Do not think you can say to your self; I have Christian parents! I
tell you that out of these stones God can raise up children for Christians. The
ax is already at the root of the trees, and every tree that does not produce
good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire.

JESUS (CONT’D) As a
example: when I saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting their net into a lake,
for they were fishermen. I asked them to: `Come follow me, and I will make you
fishers of men. At once they left their nets and followed me.

JESUS (CONT’D) And
when I saw James son of Zebedee and his brother John in a boat preparing their
nets. Without delay, they left their father Zebedee in the boat with the hired
men and followed me. This is faith.

DISCIPLE Since I am a new Christian, I have
trouble sharing my faith.

JESUS Once, as I walked along, I saw Levi son of
Alphaeus sitting at a tax collector’s booth. I asked him to: `Follow me.’ Levi
got up and followed me. He had a dinner for me with other tax collectors and
“sinners” and their were many who followed me. And yet at the same time many
leaders believe in me. But because of the Pharisees they would not confess their
faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue; for they loved praise
from men more than praise from God.

DISCIPLE I want my faith to impact others.

JESUS Some men came to me carrying a paralytic on a mat and tried to take him
into a house I was preaching at. When they could not find a way to do this
because of the crowd, they went up on the roof and lowered him through a hole in
the roof. When I saw their faith, I said, “Friend, your sins are forgiven. Your
faith affects others.

DISCIPLE Some people resist hearing about Christianity.

JESUS This is your answer: Light has come into the world, but men loved darkness
instead of light because their deeds were evil. Everyone who does evil hates the
light, and will not come into the light for fear that his deed will be exposed.
But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light,, so that it may be seen
plainly that what he has done has been done through God.

DISCIPLE But they
resist quite strongly.

JESUS Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute
you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be
glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they
persecuted those who went before you.

DISCIPLE Why is faith so important?

JESUS
Not everyone who says to me, `Lord, Lord, will enter the kingdom of heaven, but
only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on
that day, `Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive
out demons and perform many miracles? Then I will tell them plainly, `I never
knew you.. Away from me, you evildoer! I tell you the truth, he who believes has
everlasting life.

DISCIPLE How can faith impact my life?

JESUS Once two blind
men followed me calling out “have mercy on us, Son of David!’ I asked them, `Do
you believe that I am able to do this?’ `Yes Lord,” they replied. Then I touched
their eyes and said, `According to your faith will it be done to you’; and their
sight was restored.

DISCIPLE But sometimes my faith falters!

JESUS Once when the
disciples where out on a boat, I walked out to them. Peter cried out: `Lord, if
it’s you, tell me to come to you on the water.’ `Come,` I said. Then Peter got
down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward me. But when he saw
the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, `Lord, save me!’ I
reached out and caught him, and said, `why did you doubt?’ When we climbed back
into the boat, all the disciples worshiped me, saying, `Truly you are the Son of
God.’

DISCIPLE I am worried about my small faith being sufficient?

JESUS Once
when a man came to me and complained `I brought my son who has seizures and is
suffering greatly to your disciples, but they could not heal him.’ I replied, `O
unbelieving and perverse generation, how long shall I stay with you? How long
shall I put up with you? Bring the boy here to me.’ I rebuked the demon, and it
came out of the boy, and he was healed from that moment. The disciples asked,
`Why couldn’t we drive it out?’ I replied, `Because you have so little faith. I
tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to
this mountain, `Move from here to there’ and it will move. This kind can come
out only by prayer. Nothing will be impossible for you.’ The father replied, `I
do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!’

DISCIPLE Why do I need a child like
faith?

JESUS In the past people have brought babies to me to touch them, but the
disciples rebuked them. But I called the children to me and said, `Let the
little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God
belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the
kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.’

DISCIPLE How important
is prayer in faith?

JESUS Have faith in God, I tell you the truth, if anyone
says to this mountain, `Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in
his heart but believes that what he says will happen, in will be done for him.
Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have
received it, and it will be yours. And when you stand praying, if you hold
anything against anyone, forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive
you your sins.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About georgehach

I am a retired Lay Minister, acting as a prophet for God to understand the end times that is comingg and how to prepare for it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.