First Two Commandments


Moses with the tablets of the Ten Commandments...

Moses with the tablets of the Ten Commandments, painting by Rembrandt (1659) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

First Two Commandments – Practical Ap

Jesus said in Matthew 4:10: “Worship the Lord Your God, and serve Him only.” He also said in Luke 16:13: “No servant can serve two masters.”

Evaluate your efforts on the first two commandments. You may share if you like, any successes and failures:

1. NO OTHER GODS: God’s reign in my life has been replaced by another object or person I would rather serve. I love other things more than I love and obey God.

2. NO IDOLS: A picture or image of God has replaced the real Lord as the object of my worship. I have transferred my loyalty to an object, an activity, an organization or a person which has become the God I serve.

3. What does it mean that God is jealous? How does that define the terms of these commandments?

4. What passes for an IDOL now? What about sports heroes? Gurus? Classic church art?

5. What do you hear God saying to you right now?

About georgehach

I am a retired Lay Minister, acting as a prophet for God to understand the end times that is comingg and how to prepare for it.
This entry was posted in Ten Commandments. Bookmark the permalink.