Stealing


Stealing

Why were the Ten Commandments necessary?  The commandments were designed to lead to a life of practical holiness. In them, I can see the nature of God and his plan for how I should live through God’s ultimate law of love.

Today I can allow many things to become gods to me. Money, fame, work, or pleasure can become gods when I concentrate too much on them for personal identity, meaning, and security. No one sets out with the intention of worshiping these things. But by the amount of time I devote to them, they can grow into gods that ultimately control our my thoughts and energies. Letting God hold the central place in my life keeps these things from turning into gods.

God’s name is special because it carries his personal identity.  The way we use God’s name conveys how I really feel about him. I need to respect his name and use it appropriately, speaking it in praise or worship rather than in curse or jest. I should not take lightly the abuse or dishonor of his name.

I should be honest in my private dealings as well as in my public statements. In either situation, I “testify falsely” by leaving something out of a story, telling a half-truth, twisting the facts, or inventing a falsehood. God warns me against deception. Even though deception is a way of life for many people, God’s people must not give in to it!

Sometimes we wish He would make us be obedient, and at other times we wish He would leave alone.  Whenever God’s will is in complete control, He removes all pressure.  And when we deliberately choose to obey Him, He will reach to the remotest star and to the ends of the earth to assist us with all of His mighty power.

(From My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers)

Evaluate your Actions

1. I have taken things or ideas that were not mine. I considered cheating in my business or on my taxes to be an acceptable option for my personal benefit.

2. What passes for stealing? What forms of stealing are worse than others?

3. What do you hear God saying to you right now?

4. What should be your next action?

About georgehach

I am a retired Lay Minister, acting as a prophet for God to understand the end times that is comingg and how to prepare for it.
This entry was posted in Ten Commandments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.